Next Steps for Antiterrorlaw.ca

Over the summer and into the Fall, Kent Roach and I focused on writing our book False Security: The Radicalization of Anti-terrorism, and then speaking about the ideas in it at various fora.  Like others, we await with interest the new government’s plans on next steps in Canadian anti-terror and national security law.  I wrote up a short piece on what we know now (comparatively little, but better than nothing).

The original purpose of this blog was to supplement my regular national security law blog and present work that Kent and I did through 2015 on Bill C-51.  I also discovered something called twitter, something I nominally joined years ago and did not understand.  But since 2014, I have done my best to push out things that catch my eye in my areas of research interest from @cforcese.

All of this is to say that we have not invested much time in beautifying this platform or giving it flash and dazzle because it was always intended as a temporary feature.

But the issue of C-51 and its aftermath has not gone away, and so we have decided to keep this blog live into 2016.  I will continue blogging on national security law writ large on my regular blog, but we will also post on anti-terror law developments on this site.

First up, as the teaching term ends and we have some time: we have decided to prepare a “best practices” annotated draft bill for enhanced accountability in national security law, taking a stab at crafting a meaningful parliamentary review committee and also enhanced expert review by our existing review body.  As we argue in False Security, neither should proceed without the other.

We will post that document for comment and reaction here, when ready.